“Now there are also many other things that Jesus did. Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” John 21:25


That verse has always seemed so strange to me. It is the very last thing said in John’s Gospel account. It has always been such a sweet part of scripture to me. But how true is that?

All of the stories that haven’t been written. Accounts of the personal love of Jesus in people’s lives. People everywhere, every language, every ethnicity, every background, every personality, all with their own stories.

I think about all of the things God has done in my life. Just between me and the Father, the intimate embraces of love when I have needed it most, the sovereign Provision, steady guidance, personal conversations, relentless pursuing. Down to every specific detail. Those books will never be written. Unless I share about the experience, most of it will only be known in my heart and mind. And it’s all worthy of being shared, but even if I don’t God still does it. That speaks of God’s character and unchanging, unending Love.

In my life, the past two years have been so significant for me. The blog I wrote, “From Georgia to Tennessee”, tells of a glimpse of what God has done with and between Brooks and I. Although still very lengthy, it was just a few of the pivotal moments of “us” thus far. And now a few months past the publishing of that blog I could write so so much more! My point is God makes beautiful moments in our lives every day. I could never write it all down! And that’s just me. I am one small-town seventeen year old girl! Nothing special at all! But God has made a way in my life and provided a story and a purpose. I have several, several completely full notebooks of just day to day things God has spoken to me, taught me, and done– and I have only personally known Jesus for five years! And so, emphasis on the so, much has taken place in my heart and will never be remembered again and was never written down. 

God loves us on the day to day, He certainly isn’t just there for the big moments of our lives like birthdays, graduations, our wedding day, etc. No, He is there pursuing us in love every single day: In the quiet moments, in the moments of exhaustion, the moments of pure excitement and joy, in the moments of deep sorrow and confusion. All of it.

A few weeks ago I absolutely camped out in Matt Redman’s song “Your Grace Finds Me”. I Actually would just sit in the love I have been given by Jesus and take it in.

“It’s there in the light of every sunrise, there in the shadows of this life, Your great grace/ There in the every day and the mundane, there in the sorrow and the dancing, Your great grace/ It’s there on the wedding day, there in the weeping by the gravesite, there in the very breath we breathe, Your great grace/ It’s the same for the rich and the poor, the same for the saint and for the sinner, enough for this whole wide world, Your great grace, Oh, such grace” 

Yeah, that pretty much covers every facet of my wandering heart. Jesus is so much more and has provided His grace for everything.

Not to get off topic, but the dearest this song ever was to my heart was in the moments after a conversation with my mother about the people I love so much getting older. You hear that warning to “pay attention, because not only are you getting older but so are the loved ones around you”, well that just breaks my heart into pieces, seriously. I cannot even stand to talk about or think about any of my family members or really close family friends not being with me. So I was in tears and went back to my room, sat down, and listened closely to the words. The tears turned into a flood of tears, because of the collision of the reality of the fragility of life and yet the truth saturated in love that His grace will hold me and find me in every single moment of pain and joy, and even the mundane. The love of the Father. My, my, how sweet and ridiculously good it is.

Because of the fact of how much God loves, (I am so unworthy of even saying that), and because of His sacrificial love and willingness to crush His own Son in our place; Jesus, the one who was crushed, says:

“Let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price” Revelation 22:17

That is so insanely ridiculous. Without price, if you desire. That is a love that I cannot even begin to understand. I say that with as much sincerity as I can muster. That is love. That is incomparable and unjustifiable. It is God, it is love. Together, incarnate.

“Now there are also many other things that Jesus did”, and is doing, and has done. My life certainly wasn’t what John was talking about, but I can attest to what John wrote. It’s so beautiful to think about how many stories could be told about the intimate, personal, specific love between Jesus and each believer. Really think about it.
And I can’t help but think, yes, that’s who has prepared a place for us with Him, forever. The one who faithfully, unswervingly loves us. The one who has done “many things”. All of the people He has created, loved, and redeemed. All united, all in His love, forever with the Triune God of relationship. Eternity.
Thank you Father.

